Three leaders of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf left the party.


Three Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders have announced their resignations from the party over its decision to not allow former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to return to Pakistan. The leaders who have quit the party are, Imran Ismail, Chaudhry Sarwar and Jahangir Khan Tareen.

Ismail, a former PTI senator, said he was disappointed with the decision of the party leadership and believed it could weaken the party’s anti-corruption stance. Sarwar, a former PTI Punjab governor, expressed concerns over the lack of democracy and accountability in the party. Tareen, a former PTI member of the National Assembly, said he was disappointed with the direction the party was taking and decided to part ways.

The resignations come after a PTI meeting in which party leaders discussed Sharif’s return to Pakistan. The party had decided not to allow him back to the country, despite a court order that stated that he should be allowed to return. This has led to considerable criticism from some within the party.